Stereo Terror: Miss Behave And The Caretakers – Daddy’s Freakshow


Release Year: 2013

Track Listing
1) Daddy’s Freakshow
2) Miss Behave
3) Eat Your Heart Out
4) Necro Love
5) The Caretakers
6) Chop Chop Chop
7) My Knife
8) Room 209
9) On Top Of The Graveyard
10) Shotgun Blast
11) Hey Baby
12) Outro

Many fans of horrorpunk and/or horrorbilly music will remember an outfit from a few years called The Spookshow. They released two fantastic albums entitled Psychosexual Chapter One and Psychosexual Chapter Two which were very well received but with the inevitable promise of Psychosexual Chapter Three things went quiet and unfortunately the album was never to be, despite promises of the album on the bands Facebook page. It appeared that the Paychosexual saga would never be completed.

Then in 2013 rising from the ashes of the former band came Miss Behave And The Caretakers. To be completely honest when I heard what was happening I was thrilled, as I was a big fan of The Spookshow, despite my general distaste of most psychobilly tinged bands. Imagine my surprise when this new band not only met my expectations, but exceeded them. Their debut album, Daddy’s Freakshow is a strong debut and a hell of a good time filled with catchy choruses and great songs.

I want to immediately touch on the standout song of the bunch, which is Chop Chop Chop. It has to be one of the most fun songs I’ve ever heard and gets regular play on any playlists I assemble, regardless of my mood. If you take nothing else from this review, at the very least do yourself a favor and seek this song out.

The rest of the album is filled with more catchy horrorbilly tunes all led by great clean vocals. The production value is stupendous for a smaller band, something that can often hamper albums of this genre. Many of the songs are led by the female vocals, but a few of the songs have some great backing vocals, as well as the switch up on the aptly titled The Caretakers.

One thing I loved about the album is that it almost seems like the band worked on songs to kind of introduce themselves to the masses, with Miss Behave being another standout, as well as the previously mentioned The Caretakers.

The band knew it had some decent expectations to live up to given their pedigree from the previous band, but this album lives up to and surpasses them. Overall a fantastic debut and a band to keep an eye out for in the future.

Check out Miss Behave And The Caretakers on Facebook

And you can pick up Daddy’s Freakshow over on Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s