Stereo Terror: The Casket Creatures – Sex, Blood & Rock N’ Roll

The Casket Creatures – Sex, Blood And Rock N’ Roll

Release Year– 2013

Track Listing

1) Bats, Blood & Bitches
2) Lizzie’s Song
3) Vulture Eye
4) Curse Of The Mummy’s Tomb
5) Black Widow Bride
6) Love Decay
7) Devil’s Day
8) A Step Ahead Of Death
9) B-Movie Massacre
10) The Further
11) Graves (Lugosi’s Morphine Cover)
12) Agnes

The Casket Creatures are a great horrorpunk band based out of Georgia. You would certainly not expect such a phenomenal horror based band to come out of a place like Georgia, but here we are. I have had a somewhat long relationship with the band since I won their debut album Tales From The Unknown in a contest from Once I received the goodie bag with the album as well as some stickers which were immediately put to good use, I tossed the album on, not quite sure what to expect. And I was happily blown away by what was sonically blasting through my stereo. Thus began my fanship with this great band.

As 2013 rolled around the promise of a new album lingered. And being Facebook friends with Ryan from the band, I was given the awesome opportunity to check out a few tracks ahead of the release. From the previews I was given the hope that the new album would be bigger and badder in every way then their debut. Could the new album live up to the hype?

Thankfully once I got my hands on the full album, I was not to be disappointed. Right from the get go with Bats, Blood & Bitches you know you are in for a sonic tour de force. While the opening track sets the stage, it is on the second song, the aptly named Lizzie’s Song that you realize you are listening to something special. The song is just on a whole other level in every aspect of a horrorpunk tune. Its catchy, has the proper subject matter and rocks hard. I would go as far as to say it is damn near the perfect template for a song in the genre.

Curse Of The Mummy’s Tomb was chosen as the first single for the album, and with good reason. Its another catchy song with great callbacks to the original Mummy series from the 30s and 40s.

Black Widow Bride is another standout as it combines the bands great sound with female vocals. In many situations female vocals bring mended in can be distracting, but it works perfectly here, coming up with one of my favorite songs on the album.

The rest of the album continues with great catchy songs coming at you, with A Step Ahead Of Death and B-Movie Massacre being the gems of the latter half of the release. The album ends with a cover of Graves by Lugosi’s Morphine which rocks as much as the original, followed by a redux of Agnes, arguably the best song from their debut album. Its a good way to close out the CD and certainly leaves you wanting more.

Thankfully, we won’t have long to wait as it appears the band is already putting the finishing touches on a new EP due for release later this Spring.

    Standout Track

Lizzie’s Song

One thought on “Stereo Terror: The Casket Creatures – Sex, Blood & Rock N’ Roll

  1. Pingback: DeadTube: The Casket Creatures – GKMF | The Deadhouse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s