Stereo Terror: S.H.O.U.T. – Dead Of Night

Release Year

Track Listing
1) O.M.G. III
2) Hell On Earth
3) Back For Blood
4) Things That Go Bump In The Night
5) Dead Man Walking
6) Scream
7) Day Of The Dead
8) Do You Wanna Be My Demon
9) Living Nightmare
10) Dead Of Night
11) Play Dead
12) Wake Up Dead
13) Vanish In The Night
14) When The Monsterman Arrives
15) The Dead End III

Well, this was certainly different. Since I began The Deadhouse I have been inundated with requests of bands looking for exposure and reviews. A few weeks ago I was contacted by S.H.O.U.T. wondering if I would be interested in having a listen to Dead Of Night and since I am always looking to not only expand my own horizons, but those of anyone who reads the site as well, I happily took them up on their offer. As you can see from the album art above, you are in for something completely different than the standard horrorpunk that many have become accustomed. That is not to say it is bad, just different.

Beginning with O.M.G. III, which is your standard horror album intro, it is with Hell On Earth that you get your first taste of what S.H.O.U.T. has to offer. I will be honest, I’ve actually kind of put this review off as I have tried to ascertain if I have ever heard anything quite like it. I suppose the best way I can describe it is to say it is like a mix of gothic metal and horror elements overlaid with vocals. There is no real singing involved, more spoken word storytelling.

As anyone could ascertain from the names of the tracks, the album revolves around the horror genre, as the band tells different stories throughout each track. For me, the standout track is definitely Things That Go Bump In The Night with its numerous references to Freddy Krueger from the A Nightmare On Elm Street series, Jason Voorhees from the Friday The 13th
series and Leatherface from The Texas Chain Saw Massacre.

If you are in the mood for something vastly different from the crowd, and certainly something that will assuredly stand out in anyone’s collection, then be sure to check out S.H.O.U.T.!

Standout Track
Things That Go Bump In The Night

You can grab yourself a copy of Dead Of Night on the band’s Official Bandcamp page and be sure to give the band a like on their Official Facebook page!

One thought on “Stereo Terror: S.H.O.U.T. – Dead Of Night

  1. Pingback: Mass HyStereo Chapter Seven – The Deadhouse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s