Stereo Terror: Dead United – X Part II Horror Hymns

Release Year

Track Listing
1) Space Rape
2) Cosmic Ball
3) Call Of The Dead
4) Underworld Cats
5) Curse Of The Mummified
6) Tomb Of Dr. Horror
7) Bug Attack
8) We Are The Fiends
9) Tentacles
10) Zombie Radio
11) Zombie Girl
12) Chainsaw
13) Features Of The Night
14) Be Afraid Of The Night
15) Spook Rendezvous At Midnight
16) Underworld Cats (Alternative Version)

Having formed in 2004, Dead United is one of those bands I have always heard about but for one reason or another never really took the time to sit down and give them a listen. Having only heard a handful of their songs, I became much more intrigued by the band with the late-2015 release of X Part I Unalive and X Part II Horror Hymns celebrating their 10th Anniversary. While the first album, or ‘Part’, is a live recording, Horror Hymns is where any new fans will want to start. The Würzburg, Germany band has assembled what could be considered somewhat of a ‘Greatest Hits’ from their previous albums over the past decade. So, if you want to check out a band, what better way to start than with what the band themselves have assembled to present to listeners worldwide?

And what better way to start an album than with a track called Space Rape. A wise pick to open the album as well, seeing as it is one of the strongest tracks on the album. The first third of the album works as almost a crash course for new listeners, allowing you to become accustomed to their sound and style.

One of the more fun songs on the album is Curse Of The Mummified. I cannot quite place my finger on it, but there is just something about the song that feels different about it when compared with many other contemporary horrorpunk bands. Tomb Of Dr. Horror continues that feeling, admittedly to a lesser extent. And if you are in the mood for a good laugh, Tentacles has a chorus that will certainly produce at least a chuckle, and weird looks from anyone around you who may hear the song as well.

Following Tentacles comes what one could dub the ‘Zombie twins’, Zombie Radio and Zombie Girl. While both tracks are solid, and work as a lead-in to the final stretch of the album, Zombie Radio is undoubtedly the stronger track. Up until this point in the album, the choice for best song would be a toss-up between Tentacles, Space Rape or Zombie Radio, then you get hit. Chainsaw is actually the only Dead United song I had remembered from my brief excursion with the band a few years ago, and I had recalled digging it. And I am happy to report the song is still awesome as all hell, and I have definitely had it cranked when driving.

Following up on a track as awesome as Chainsaw is a tall task, but the band still has a few tricks up its sleeve. The intro for Features Of The Night made me dig the song immediately, as it is a riff on the speech that Cheech Marin performs out front of the Titty Twister in From Dusk Till Dawn. The song itself following the brief albeit hilarious introduction is a fast punky track, and much like the aforementioned ‘Zombie twins’ could be considered as part of a ‘Night trilogy’ along with Be Afraid Of The Night and Spook Rendezvous At Midnight. Closing out the proceedings is an alternate version of Underworld Cats with female vocals mixed in.

Dead United certainly has done a solid job in putting together these 16 tracks in celebration of their 10 year anniversary. X Part II Horror Hymns (as well as X Part I Unalive) will hopefully bring a lot of new eyes and ears to these German horrorpunks, bringing support for some new and awesome music over the next 10 years so that in a decade or so we could be looking at XX Part III Horror Hymns. Hell, the band is already at it with a January 1st, 2016 release of a new album entitled 3D Audio Horror, which will hopefully be featured on the site sometime soon.

You can check out Dead United on their Official Website, grab your copies of both X Part I Unalive and X Part II Horror Hymns, in addition to all of their other albums at the Dead United BandCamp page. And of course, don’t forget to give the band a Like on their Official Facebook page!

Killer Track

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s