Stereo Terror: Savage Remains – Brand New Disease

Release Year

Track Listing
1) V.R.W.
2) Dawn Of The Dead
3) Brand New Disease
4) I Wanna Be A Lost Boy
5) Polterguy
6) Skitzo
7) Destroy!
8) I Wanna Die
9) Be My Bloody Valentine
10) The Crusher
11) J.A.S.O.N.S.
12) Zombies
13) Madhouse
14) Demon Knight
15) Meet You At The Morgue
16) Warboys

Hailing out of Fredericksburg, VA, Savage Remains have blasted onto the scene with their sophomore effort, Brand New Disease. 16 tracks of rollicking horrorpunk, Savage Remains have put together arguably the first great horrorpunk album of 2017. The band, consisting of Matt Alive on vocals, M. Valdemar on bass, Swinger Gallows on guitar and Danny Decay on drums have also been making quite an impact on the scene with their friendly rivalry with The Jasons. So the hype machine is quite strong for the band, and the band does their best to ensure that Brand New Disease helps them live up to that hype.

The album absolutely rips right from the beginning of the intro track “V.R.W.” and seemingly never lets up. The title track is an early stand out, and there is absolutely no way that I can see people not loving and getting this track stuck in their head. Songs like “I Wanna Be A Lost Boy” and “Skitzo” are also guaranteed to get repeat plays.

Two things really stand about Savage Remains on Brand New Disease. The first is that the band clearly know what they are doing musically, and they use that to give the album an energy that never seems to dissipate throughout, even on tracks like their cover of “The Crusher” and even moreso on “J.A.S.O.N.S.” a track that is clearly meant as a joke, but the band plays it straight (at least until the end of the track) which makes it seem more genuine.

The other thing that stands out are the lyrics. There is absolutely no doubt that the band is truly full of horror nerds, and that also comes across in tracks like “Be My Bloody Valentine” and “Demon Knight” which contain references that more hardened horror fans are going to pick out and appreciate.

Brand New Disease tears through 16 tracks in roughly 26 minutes, but I guarantee you, it is 26 minutes you will not regret spending with the band and this album. I know it is still rather early into 2017, but we have a serious contender for the best horrorpunk album here, and it sets a high bar for any other bands this year that want to take the throne. I can’t recommend this album enough, and I will be paying close attention to everything that Savage Remains does in the future, and you damned well should too!

You can grab your own copy of Brand New Disease, as well as the band’s other merch, at the Savage Remains Store. And be sure to go give the band a Like on the Official Savage Remains Facebook page to stay up to date with the band!

Killer Track
“Meet You At The Morgue”

One thought on “Stereo Terror: Savage Remains – Brand New Disease

Leave a Reply to Dom Calzola Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s