Stereo Terror: Devil In The Belfry – Wandering Alone


Release Year

Track Listing
1) Intro
2) Wandering Alone
3) Vampyre
4) The Blob
5) Crimson Eyes
6) Anywhere But Here
7) Into Oblivion
8) The Shadow Lurks
9) Tomorrow
10) Outsider
11) The One Who Flew
12) My Anodyne
13) Blood Stains

I’ll admit, I don’t listen to as much new horror punk as I should. With so many bands popping up every day, it can get a little tough to choose which music to invest in. I saw several people sharing and talking about this album yesterday when it was released, all of which was brimming with positivity, so I took that as a good sign. Since I’m new around these parts (to The Deadhouse, that is), I figured it would make for a solid first review, and thus, I gave it a few spins.

Devil In The Belfry breaks into the scene like a bat (devil?) out of Hell with their debut album, Wandering Alone. This three-piece horror punk band from New Jersey blessed us with thirteen jammin’ tunes that don’t leave anything to be desired.

From start to finish, this album delivers the goods. Fast-paced guitars, gnarly basswork, spastic drumming, and classic horror punk vocals with a little edge to them take us on a breakneck joyride of chills and thrills. The album’s title seems a bit out of place, that is, until you hear the title track. It seamlessly echoes out from the intro and hits every possible mark you’d want in a horror punk song, whether it’s the slamming bass lick that kicks off the track or the guitar solo in the second half. Oh yeah, did I mention there’s guitar solos on this album? Because there are. They’re not something you see too often in this genre, so I’ve learned to appreciate it when the guitarist lets loose with some shreddage every now and then.

I was afraid that since the title track appears so early on in the album that the rest of the songs wouldn’t be quite up to snuff, but I was wrong, so no worries, they’ve got you covered. It’s a relentless continuum, and each track on it hits just as hard as its namesake song.

While their sound isn’t necessarily anything new, the quality of that sound is something that makes these songs stand out. The production and mixing are stellar, and if there’s one thing you’ll learn about me, it’s that I love to hear all of the instruments effortlessly. They’re not trying to reinvent the wheel here, they just wanted to write some damn good horror punk, and I doubt anyone has a problem with that. At the end of the day, I think that approach will serve these guys well. Anyone that’s even the slightest bit familiar with the genre would welcome this album with open arms, and I strongly suggest you do the same and give it a few spins of your own.

You can catch more of Devil In The Belfry on their Facebook, and their music is available through their Bandcamp and Big Cartel pages.

Until next time, children of the night.

~ Rob Dead

One thought on “Stereo Terror: Devil In The Belfry – Wandering Alone

  1. Pingback: Stereo Terror: Jess-O-Lantern – Bare Bones | The Deadhouse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s