Stereo Terror: Wolfman And The Brimstone Boys – Safe Space

Release Year

Track Listing
1) Bake That Cake
2) There Will Be Blood
3) Necrophilia Paradise
4) Tonight I Love You
5) Irish Fucking Song
6) Oh No He’s Got A Gun
7) Guns
8) Viva La Apocalypse
9) When You Die
10) Rotten Pumpkins
11) Boathouse
12) Show You I Care
13) Wolfman’s Safe Space

It’s no secret that Wolfman Chuck has been a long-time supporter of my work here on The Deadhouse. Just click his name there and you will see I’ve done numerous reviews and an interview with the man, so when I was presented with the opportunity to check out his newest project, backed by a full band with a more metal edge to the music, I jumped at the opportunity. I won’t lie here, I was also privy to some of the demos as this long gestating project came to be, so I had a bit of an idea of what to expect. But even with that knowledge I had no idea how great Safe Space would turn out. Hell, it may be the best work the man has ever done!

The album begins with the declaration that the boys have started their own business baking cakes for anyone and everyone that they will, ahem, “BAKE THAT FUCKING CAKE!” It’s hilarious as long as you are the type who isn’t easily offended, and really, if you’re looking into an album by Chuck and the boys, odds are you aren’t. “There Will Be Blood” is the first official song on the album, and the best way I can describe it is to say take what you know of any Wolfman Chuck music, give it a killer thrash metal sound around it, and boom. “Necrophilia Paradise” is a holdover from the demo album (which was reviewed here) and stands out once again as one of the strongest cuts on the album. It’s followed by “Tonight I Love You” and in an interesting twist, which can be either credited to my own personal tastes evolving, or the way the songs came to their finished product, I hailed “Tonight I Love You” as the ‘Killer Cut’ on the demo, but now I’d throw that honor to “Necrophilia Paradise.”

I should take some time to give some credit to the band as they all help bring this album to life, especially bassist/vocalist Sage Slaughter who is the voice behind all of the cake skits, which continue to appear throughout the album. Guitarist Mr. Munging does one hell of an album bringing the songs an extra layer with his skilled playing, and then not one, but TWO drummers, Matty The Butcher Rapebait and Doug The Butcher. All of these guys, along with Wolfman Chuck take what once were much simpler songs and take them to a new level.

As the album hits its second half, we get some solid tracks like “Viva La Apocalypse” and the twisted two-fer of “Rotten Pumpkins” and “Boathouse.” The album comes to a great close with the driving guitar of “Show You I Care” followed by one final skit.

If you have been a fan of anything Wolfman Chuck has done in the past, have a taste for a little thrash with your horrorpunk and aren’t easily offended, then I honestly cannot recommend Safe Space enough. It breathes new life into what Chuck has been doing for several years now and acts much like a new beginning. Whatever comes next, I assure you The Deadhouse will be ready and waiting, and I hope you all join me in doing the same.

Head over to the Official Wolfman And The Brimstone Boys Bandcamp page to grab your copy of Safe Space with the ‘Name Your Price’ option, meaning you have no excuse not to. And be sure to head over to their Facebook page and give them a Like to stay updated on all the latest happenings!

Killer Track
“Necrophilia Paradise”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s