DeadTube Exclusive: Bloodsucking Zombies From Outer Space Unleash The “Night Flier”

When it comes to bands in the horror genre, there aren’t very many out there that have had the longevity of Bloodsucking Zombies From Outer Space. A band that has consistently reinvented itself over time, the Vienna-based band have one of the most passionate fanbases around and are currently supporting their most recent release, All These Fiendish Things (read my Stereo Terror review here). And now the band has released their newest video for the song that I actually dubbed the ‘Killer Track’ in my review, “Night Flier.” In anticipation of the big reveal for the video, I was able to catch up with the band’s frontman, Dead ‘Richy’ Gein, who also directed the video, to discuss the video and the song behind it!

Stereo Terror: Bloodsucking Zombies From Outer Space – All These Fiendish Things

Release Year

Track Listing
1) Prelude
2) This Ain’t No Halloween Costume
3) Bela Kiss
4) Good Guy Rag Doll
5) Nice Day For An Exorcism
6) Janet Leigh
7) Night Flier
8) Sleepaway Camp ’95
9) Rebel Heart
10) Rock ‘n’ Roll Vampires
11) Don’t Answer The Phone
12) Hellucinations
13) God’s Own Mistake

Continue reading

Stereo Terror: Running From Daylight – Coffin For Two

Release Year

Track Listing
1) Coffin For Two
2) Devil’s Night Dance
3) Ghost Bride

Well, how’s this for an interesting twist. Any longtime readers of the site know of my constant complaints of the lack of horrorpunk bands up here in Canada, specifically the Ontario region. With pretty much only Black Cat Attack and The House Of Haunt filling the void, it would appear that a newer band has risen from the grave right under my nose. Running From Daylight just happen to be based out of London, Ontario, which also happens to be my hometown and the base of The Deadhouse itself. So of course I have to check them out and see what they have to offer to our beloved genre.

Running From Daylight lean towards the psycho, or horrorbilly, side of the genre. Again as any longtime readers are aware, I am not really a fan of that aspect of the genre with some exceptions. Kicking off the album with “Coffin For Two” the band introduce themselves as very similar to most acts in the psychobilly genre. The vocals from guitarist Andrew Bellini-Rutledge are absolutely meant for the horrorbilly style, and helps anchor the music. Having a high-energy opening track is a good call, and also serves to show off the musical chops of upright bassist Garrett Renders, drummer Tarek Rashwan and second guitarist Troy Jasper.

“Devil’s Night Dance” starts slightly weaker than the preceding track, but finds its footing by the bridge after the second chorus. It is definitely one of those tracks that may take a listener a few listens to really grab onto. The very short EP finishes up with “Ghost Bride” the album’s ballad. Featuring female vocals from guest Michelle Lo, it is the track that really solidifies the band and their take on the genre. “Ghost Bride” is the track I can see bringing fans in the most, with something about it just making you want to throw the track on repeat.

There is a lot of talent contained within Coffin For Two, and it will be interesting to see where Running From Daylight goes from here. I can see a very bright future ahead for the band as long as they do not allow themselves to be trapped within the confines of the psychobilly side of things. If they continue along this route and are not afraid to experiment with their talents, they can become one of the big hitters of the horror music scene in not only the Ontario area, but all of Canada.

You can grab a copy of Coffin For Two at the Running From Daylight Bandcamp page with the “Name Your Price” option and be sure to give the band a Like on their Facebook page!

Killer Track
“Ghost Bride”